Info Football Online .com
All you need to know about international football

FIFA Football World Cup Spain 1982 Summary
Tournament information, champions, scores, and more

FIFA Football World Cup Spain 1982

Host Country:
Spain 1982 Logo
Spain 1982
Football World Cup Spain 1982 Italy Logo
Italy Flag

World Cup Spain 1982:
Summary and General Information

First Round:
Group A - Group B - Group C
Group D - Group E - Group F

Final Round:
Group 1 - Group 2 - Group 3 - Group 4
Final and Third Place Matches

Final Standings - Top Scorers Table
Red Cards - Penalties - Goals Summary

World Cup Summary
General Information Comments
National Teams: 24
Goal average:
Top scorer:
Paolo Rossi (Italy) 6 goals
Largest win:

Hungary 10 El Salvador 1
Match with more goals:

Hungary 10 El Salvador 1
Red Cards: 5

The Football World Cup of Spain 1982 was the first with 24 teams.

To reach the final match Italy had to leave in its way, in the second round, the defending champion Argentina and one of the top candidates Brazil.

Germany suffered with France in the semifinals. After a 1-1 tie in 90 minutes, France made to goals in extra time to put the score 3-1 but Germany recovered in time to tie the game and win the first penalty definition of the history.

In the final match Italy defeated Germany 3-1 and Paolo Rossi, who made one the goals became the top scorer of the tournament.

Spain 1982 Groups
Group A Group B Group C
Cameroon Flag Cameroon
Italy Flag Italy
Peru Flag Peru
Poland FlagPoland
Algeria Flag Algeria
Austria Flag Austria
Chile Flag Chile
Germany Flag West Germany
Argentina Flag Argentina
Belgium Flag Belgium
El Salvador Flag El Salvador
Hungary Flag Hungary
Group D Group E Group F
Czechoslovakia Flag Czechoslovakia
England Flag England
France Flag France
Kuwait Flag Kuwait
Honduras Flag Honduras
Northern Ireland Flag Northern Ireland
Spain Flag Spain
Yugoslavia Flag Yugoslavia
Brazil Flag Brazil
New Zealand Flag New Zealand
Scotland Flag Scotland
Soviet Union Flag Soviet Union
National Teams Qualified, by Continent

Europe: Austria - Belgium - Czechoslovakia - England - France - Germany - Hungary - Italy - Northern Ireland - Poland - Scotland - Spain - Yugoslavia
South America: Argentina - Brazil - Chile - Peru
Central and North America: El Salvador - Honduras
Africa: Algeria - Cameroon
Asia: Kuwait - Soviet Union
Oceania: New Zealand

Errors? Comments? Suggestions? We receive all on this e-mail
Copyright 2024. All rights reserved. Privacy and Cookies Policy
Logos, names and trademarks are property of the FIFA or of their respective owners.