Info Football Online .com
All you need to know about international football

FIFA Football World Cup Mexico 1986 Summary
Tournament information, champions, scores, and more

FIFA Football World Cup Mexico 1986

Host Country:
Mexico 1986 Logo
Mexico 1986
Football World Cup Mexico 1986 Argentina Logo
Argentina Flag

World Cup Mexico 1986:
Summary and General Information

First Round:
Group A - Group B - Group C
Group D - Group E - Group F

Final Round:
Fixture and All the Scores

Final Standings - Top Scorers Table
Red Cards - Penalties - Goals Summary

World Cup Summary
General Information Comments
National Teams: 24
Goal average:
Top scorer:
Lineker (England) - 6 goals
Largest win:

URSS 6 Poland 0
Match with more goals:

Denmark 6 Uruguay 1
Red Cards: 8

For the second time Mexico hosted a World Cup and again it was a great football show.

The Argentina National Team wasn't one of the top candidates but they had in Diego Maradona on their roster. And he was at the top of his career. With his impossible goals, that included the best goal of the World Cup history, an amazing display of skills and a goal made with his hand, he took Argentina to the final match.

Despite Germany wasn't going to give up easily, and would tie the game after being 2-0 down, a goal by Jorge Burruchaga would give the South Americans their second championship.

Mexico 1986 Groups
Group A Group B Group C
Argentina Flag Argentina
Bulgaria Flag Bulgaria
Italy Flag Italy
South Korea Flag South Korea
Belgium Flag Belgium
Iraq Flag Iraq
Mexico Flag Mexico
Paraguay Flag Paraguay
Canada Flag Canada
France Flag France
Hungary Flag Hungary
Soviet Union Flag Soviet Union
Group D Group E Group F
Algeria Flag Algeria
Brazil Flag Brazil
North Ireland Flag Northern Ireland
Spain Flag Spain
Denmark Flag Denmark
Scotland Flag Scotland
Uruguay Flag Uruguay
Germany Flag West Germany
England Flag England
Morocco Flag Morocco
Poland Flag Poland
Portugal Flag Portugal
National Teams Qualified, by Continent

Europe: Belgium - Bulgaria - Denmark - England - France - Germany - Hungary - Italy - Northern Ireland - Poland - Portugal - Scotland - Spain
South America: Argentina - Brazil - Paraguay - Uruguay
Central and North America: Canada - Mexico
Africa: Algeria - Morocco
Asia: Iraq - South Korea - Soviet Union
Oceania: -

Errors? Comments? Suggestions? We receive all on this e-mail
Copyright 2024. All rights reserved. Privacy and Cookies Policy
Logos, names and trademarks are property of the FIFA or of their respective owners.